A Stomach Virus, Dirty Wood Floors, and a Baby Squirrel

My sister and I are in the process of getting to know each other. After Andor was born, she decided to come and visit so that we could learn more about each other.

And how.

I won’t tell the whole story because, quite frankly, I don’t want to re-live the whole thing. It was tense for me. I have a lot of unresolved issues surrounding her, my mother, and pretty much all other family from both sides. I wanted for her to relax and enjoy my beloved city.

I didn’t give up the feeling that I had some control over her feelings until a little later than I ought to have, but who’s counting.

Either way the entire trip was blessed by Murphy himself.

She and the girls got the stomach virus and was pretty much sick for the first few days, the condo I got her was impossible, the wood floors were hyper sensitive and had to be kept clean or they would scratch, it was impossible to regulate the heat, the day we visited the tide pools in Newport, was literally one of the worst days of the year to go, the sea life was four feet under and unable to be viewed, the beach was windy and cold, the washing machine and dryer in the condo wrinkled all her clothes, rendering most of her clothes unwearable…etc.

And there really is an etc.

I really felt like every complaint that she had was my fault, of my doing somehow. I felt like I was a miserable hostess, and that…nevermind, that part I need to chew on more.

Either way…the food I made was really good, Cal was an amazing uncle, complete with t-rex claws for the girls, the view from The Civic is awesome, the Japanese Gardens rule, OMSI has a great dinosaur exhibit, the coast is still rainy and cold and beautiful, Andor is amazing, and growing, and I love the day to day again. And we saw a baby squirrel.

Portland is my favorite.
My little family is all that I need.
I am brave and so is my sister.
My best friend is beautiful.
To be continued.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

