Times up! February 21 51/366

     .

I’m outside Sip n’ Kranz today, sitting in the sun, sipping a decaf mocha, reading my book, basking in the hormones coursing through my veins, when I was interrupted by a woman.
She says, “I hope you’re enjoying that,” pointing over at my coffee.
“What” I say. I’m not sure where she’s going with this.
“I was just watching you from inside”, she says, “and you look so content and I was just hoping you knew that that time will soon be up.”
or something close to that.

“Yes, I am” I respond, because I am.

I am enjoying the quiet sun and these relaxed moments.
More than I ever have before.

3 Responses

  1. hmmm, she sounds a bit grumpy
    i have 3 children and the bump is 30 weeks and i can still have that special coffee, or hot choc, and its even better when i know my children are all happy and busy someplace or sound asleep !

    silly woman … her, not you ! 😀

  2. Yeah, I know you’re right and she probably is grumpy and maybe a little jealous of the tranquility I feel.

  3. ~ I saw this and instantly thought of you. Love for your soul!

    “Portrait by a Neighbor”

    Before she has her floor swept
    Or her dishes done,
    Any day you’ll find her
    A-sunning in the sun!

    It’s long after midnight
    Her key’s in the lock,
    And you never see her chimney smoke
    Till past ten o’clock!

    She digs in her garden
    With a shovel and a spoon,
    She weeds her lazy lettuce
    By the light of the moon,

    She walks up the walk
    Like a woman in a dream,
    She forgets she borrowed butter
    And pays you back cream!

    Her lawn looks like a meadow,
    And if she mows the place
    She leaves the clover standing
    And the Queen Anne’s lace!

    by Edna St Vincent Millay

Leave a Reply

