Fall Asleep Reading February 8 38/366

    

Since the beginning of January, I’ve had the hardest time reading. I’ll curl up with a cup of tea and my checkered wool blanket, start to read, and before I know it, I’ll nod off. I’ll end up snoring happily away with the book resting on my lap, not being read. It’s been a source of frustration.

However, today I managed to finish one book and I’ve managed to get half way through another, with only one micro nap! I’m so excited. Does this mean that I’m cured? I hope so. I want to read! I like to read. I like naps too, don’t get me wrong, but reading, it’s the tops!

I finished The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls. It is a fantastic book about a young girls experience with an extremely dysfunctional family, and her rise above their insanity. It was a hard one for me to read because some of her experiences resembled so closely my own, that I would often have to stop reading, just to digest some of my own memories. Some things I had just stuffed away for my own sake.

I’m reading Blink, by Malcolm Gladwell, a study of snap judgment, instincts and intuition. So far I love it. I always manage to second guess myself, and perhaps, this book can show me why that’s silly.
Also, Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke, a wonderful and silly book about England and magic and so forth.

Soon to be read include The Tipping point by Malcolm Gladwell and Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. I can only hope that I can get them all read before the baby comes! Perhaps I can, If I can just stay awake!

One Response

  1. While Googling for solutions to my falling-asleep-while-reading problem, I discovered your entry, wherein I see that you have about 70% of the same books/reading list as I, and use the same WordPress theme. Are none of us capable of originality anymore? 🙂

Leave a Reply

