22 weeks

Wiggle Ninja:

His crown-to-rump length ought to be about 7.6 inches and he should weigh about 12.25 ounces now! The organ systems are becoming specialized for their particular functions. The liver produces different enzymes than it will produce after delivery. It is responsible for breaking down billirubin, which is produced by the breaking down of blood cells. Interesting fact, because the life span of fetal red blood cell is shorter than that of an adult, a fetus produces more billirubin than adults do. Billirubin passes from fetal blood to the placenta and then into your blood. Your liver helps get rid of fetal billirubin. A newborn baby that has high levels of billirubin may show signs of jaundice. Jaundiced babies have a yellowish tint to their eyes and skin and are often treated with phototherapy.

He now has a full complement of neurons in the brain and is learning about his body and surroundings through touch. He has a keen sense of hearing and responds to sounds! Whenever his dad is talking he kicks and rolls. We think it’s because Cal’s voice is so deep and probably travels better through my skin. He’s getting heavier every day, his skin still appears wrinkled because he will gain more weight. His lips are distinct and his eyes are formed, though the iris still lacks pigment. This week his brain begins to develop rapidly.

And Me:

I’m ravenous again. There for a couple of weeks it seemed that the hunger let up a bit, but it didn’t last. I’m starving again. I regularly wake up hours before I want to wake up, because I need bacon and eggs and toast.. I ate a protein bar this morning at 6:30. I think protein bars may enjoy a permanent spot in my pantry if this is going to go on. I can’t make bacon, eggs and toast and go back to sleep! Gawd I love bacon.

About a week and a half ago I woke up with a raging case of carpel tunnel in my wrists! I was confused, until I researched it, and it’s common for the swelling and the extra blood volume to irritate the carpel tunnel. This too shall pass, however, your middle three fingers being numb all of the time is bothersome, and waking up to horrible pain in your hands is not so nice. I have a feeling I can kiss sleeping from now on goodbye. I either have to pee, eat, or return the blood to my hands six or seven times a night.

As bad as all that sounds, I’m so happy I can’t even begin to describe it. Perhaps it’s the testosterone that the baby is sharing with me, or the oxytocin, another hormone that does everything good, (look it up) but I am on cloud nine almost all of the time. I still get irritated and annoyed with people, like everyone else, but I am far less fragile and my self esteem seems to rise every day! I don’t mind gaining all of this weight, or waking up a lot, or the back pain, or the hunger. I am in love with two beautiful men, one in my belly and the other in my arms! I have never known love like this. It makes me love myself more, loving this child. Hope and excitement rule the day! Piss off nay-sayers!

Frankly, I’m kind of a hot little mama right now. My face is full and the circles under my eyes are gone. My skin looks radiant and my boobs are awesome! I am growing out my mommy hair, as Marie put it. My nails are strong and long and not full of carbon from a kitchen. Ahh, prenatal vitamins.

This may not last and I could be singing a whole different tune in a week, but for now, I feel fine and I’m enjoying it.

Kisses.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

