18 weeks

At 18 weeks the baby is about 5 to 5.5 inches, crown to rump and weighs about 5.25 ounces. The bones in the inner ear have hardened and he can hear loud noises and will even respond to them! He yawns, stretches, makes facial expressions, and kicks me. By now his sex bits ought to be visible as they are all done developing and now they’re just growing. He is also developing a protective coating on his nerves called myelin. His heart is fully formed and beating away madly. His ears stand out from his head, his eyes now face forward, his taste buds can distinguish sweet from bitter and little pads are growing on his fingers and toes. Rapid growth will slow down a bit for now, and resume later.

As for me, I itch because my skin is expanding to accommodate my new and improved size. I am a little less hungry, but still need to eat way more than I ever have. The dreams continue to be bazaar and vivid. My boobs are changing, and how! They are nearly twice the size they were four months ago. I can’t lay on my belly anymore because it feels like I am laying on top of a cantaloupe. My heart beats really loud thanks to the increased blood in my body. Speaking of blood, my initial blood work has come up roses. All is well with all my levels of everything, although, I need to work on iron, which means more beans and red meat, oh my! I am having skin problems that I haven’t had before. My chest has been covered in tiny little pimples that itch and look angry, but thankfully they look like they’re clearing up. I feel really full almost all of the time, like I’ve eaten too much. You know that feeling when you’ve eaten so many ribs and mashed potatoes that you feel that your sides will split? That’s what my belly feels like almost all of the time.

Sound miserable? It’s not. Even when I get really gnarly headaches that I feel like will be the death of me, I know it will pass. Almost every night the baby will kick me and let me know that it’s there and suddenly nothing else matters. When I heard the heart beat again on Monday it was all I could do to keep from crying! My little ninja monkey tiny baby grows and grows inside of me! This is the coolest thing that has ever happened to me. It’s so different than anything else I’ve ever experienced that it just can’t be compared to anything. It’s close to falling in love, very close.

Nothing more to report.

Camille

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

