14 weeks

I heard the heart beat of the tiny baby! It was very, very cool. It sounded like a race horse speeding down the track at 132 beats per minute. There it was, loud and clear, thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump- thump-thump-thump-thump!

At 14 weeks the baby weighs 1.5 ounces and is 3.5 to 4 inches long and is growing in leaps and bounds. The thyroid gland has matured and the baby begins producing hormones. The bones are getting harder and stronger. The skin is still transparent and the whole body is covered in a downy hair called lanugo that protects the skin from the water it’s in. It pretty much wiggles and dances all the time.

 I am doing well. I feel like I could start a workout schedule without it wiping me all the way out. I love the pool. I crave apples and nectarines and chicken and clam chowder and beef and lamb. No real strange cravings. I have hand excema again, which I haven’t seen in a long time; I didn’t miss it either. While it was really hot I had headaches. I drink more water, but still giant headaches. No problem, I can deal. My hips feel strange and I have to concentrate so that I don’t waddle. Posture People, Posture! I might go dancing soon!

I’ve decided on my midwives and I’m going to get all the requisite blood tests and check up’s and so forthians in the next couple of weeks. I won’t get an ultrasound until 20 weeks. Then I’ll find out the sex and see all of it’s tiny arms and legs and so on. That is going to cause some water works, I’m sure. I’ll post the ultrasounds…no worries.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

